Book Review: Haunt by Ryan Meyer

Hey Friends!

So I just read Haunt by Ryan Meyer and I just have to gush about it!

First a little background info: Ryan is one of my closest friends! I went to high school with him and we love to talk books, reading, movies, and life. I miss him dearly since I moved to Massachusetts for work, but I visit and we catch up mostly over food, drinks, movies, and fangirl sessions! We are both recently published authors so we bond over that. We swap formatting ideas and a common text is: “can you download my book and see if the formatting is okay?” or “I bought your book! Congrats!” Our biggest promoters are our friends! And when we feel like no one is reading our work we get those uplifting and supportive texts from each other and this image pops into our head.

Image result for that one person who likes all your posts

Haunt is Ryan’s first collection of poetry, and definitely not his last. Now let’s talk about the book!

These poems are so deep, haunting, and thought provoking. I like poetry because it is the shortest way to evoke deep emotions in people. You have to appreciate Ryan’s craft because he clearly took years to write these pieces. Every word is chosen carefully and it’s just perfection. He has relatable poems, poems that make your skin crawl, and poems that cover topics no one wants to talk about or just can’t choose the right words to do so. Ryan finds the words and shoves them in your face, no apologizing. His writing is raw and beautiful. I highly recommend to any fan of poetry or just any human who has emotions. His words make you feel something! Check out his website and purchase his book on amazon! There is a print edition as well as an ebook version. Click on the link below and read Haunt today!

Well done Ryan! Keep writing!

Ebook 

Paperback 

Ryan’s Website

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a comment